Koochiching county added to spring burning restrictions

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources logo with green and blue lettering on white background.

DNR News Release – April 12, 2024

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has expanded the area subject to open burning restrictions of vegetative debris, as warm and dry weather spreads throughout the state. This kind of burning is the number one cause of wildfires in Minnesota and burning restrictions help reduce wildfire risk.

Beginning Friday, April 12, additional counties in which burning restrictions apply are:


Restrictions remain in place in the following counties:

Aitkin, Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Polk, Pope, Ramsey, Red Lake, Roseau, Sherburne, St. Louis County (southern half), Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Washington, Wilkin, and Wright.

The DNR will not issue permits for the open burning of brush or yard waste in these counties until restrictions are lifted.

If people need to dispose of vegetation or yard waste composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site are all good options. For more information, visit the composting for woodland owners page of the DNR website (mndnr.gov/wildfire/prevention/debris-composting.html).

People cause 90% of wildfires in Minnesota. If a fire rekindles or escapes, the person who set it is liable for any damage caused, as well as for wildfire suppression costs. Burning restrictions will be adjusted as conditions change. For more information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the statewide fire danger and burning restrictions page of the DNR website (mndnr.gov/burnrestrictions).

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources  |  mndnr.gov Email us: info.dnr@state.mn.us  |  Call 651-296-6157 or 888-646-6367